CORD issues 24hour ultimatum for state to release detained MPs

CORD leaders Raila Odinga, Moses Wetangula and Kalonzo Musyoka have issued a 24hour ultimatum to the government to release all the six MPs, both from CORD and Jubilee that have been incarcerated at Pangani police station for alleged hate speech.

Speaking to the press outside the police station on Thursday, Raila warned that there will be dire (undisclosed) consequences if the six will not be released by tomorrow evening.

On his part, Kalonzo said they are being held without being charged, which is a violation of their basic rights.

CORD leaders have been denied to see their male colleagues at Pangani but were allowed to see their two female colleagues; Aisha Jumwa and Florence Mutua at the Muthaiga police station.


The six lawmakers include Moses Kuria, Kimani Ngunjiri, Ferdinand Waititu, Timothy Bosire, Junet Muhammed, and Johnston Muthama.


Other leaders who accompanied the three include; Mombasa Governor Ali Hassan Joho, Siaya Senator James among others.


Meanwhile, the National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC) says it will move to the Appellate Court to oppose if the High Court will grant bail to eight Cord and Jubilee legislators accused of hate speech.


The Commission’s Chairman Francis Ole Kaparo told the National Assembly Committee on Integration that a continued detention of the eight MPs will serve as a lesson to all other elected leaders with tendency of inciting Kenyans against ethnic lines and political affiliations.


He noted that they are likely to face additional charges tomorrow (Friday) during the mentioning of the case before Justice Joseph Onguto, after spending four nights in police cells.


Kaparo has however expressed dissapointment, saying the government is not focusing on promoting peaceful co-existence and has instead focused much on what is required to end or prevent violence.


The eight lawmakers incarcerated over alleged hate-speech include Moses Kuria (Gatundu South), Kimani Ngunjiri (Bahati), Ferdinand Waititu (Kabete), Timothy Bosire (Kitutu Masaba), Junet Muhammed (Suna East), Florence Mutua (Busia MP), Aisha Jumwa (Kilifi MP), and Johnston Muthama (Machakos Senator).



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s