IEBC: Jubilee unveils 7-member team for reform talks

A motion to approve legality of the fourteen member select joint parliamentary committee of MPs from Jubilee and Cord, will be debated at the national assembly on Wednesday next week.

The committee comprising of seven members from each of the two rival political coalitions, is aimed at holding talks over the reconstitution of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) ahead of the August 2017 polls.

The Leader of Majority at the National Assembly Aden Duale has indicated that the select committee will have a thirty-day time-frame to dialogue and involve members of the public on how a new electoral body should be constituted.

Meanwhile, Jubilee coalition has unveiled its seven-member team which comprises of; Senators Kiraitu Murungi (of Meru), Kipchumba Murkomen (of Elgeyo/Marakwet), Beatrice Elachi (nominated); MPs Naomi Shaban, Jimmy Angwenyi, Muhammud Muhammed and and Moses Kuria (of Gatundu South).

On the other hand, CORD nominated Senators James Orengo (of Siaya), Johnston Muthama (of Machakos), Mutula Kilonzo Jnr (of Makueni), MPs Dr Eseli Simiyu (of Tongaren), Mombasa County’s Mishi Mboko, Junet Muhammed (of Suna East), and Professor Hellen Sambili, as the team to meet with Jubilee’s team.

This follows complaints and demands by Cord, lawyers, civil society, religious leaders and general public that the IEBC be constituted for it allegedly lacks confidence and trust  to conduct general election in August 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s