Women senators cry foul, demand more women in IEBC select-committees


Two nominated women Senators have raised complaints over the manner in which Jubilee and CORD Coalitions nominated seven members each, to the fourteen member-select committee, that seeks to dialogue the reconstitution of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

Senators Martha Wangari and Joy Gwendo said the two coalitions did not consider incorporating enough number of women to the select committees, to come up with a third-gender rule, as the Constitution stipulates.

In the appointments, CORD had nominated two women MPs; (Mishi Mboko and Hellen Sambili) to represent the Coalition but Sambili turned down the nomination and was replaced by Senator Bonny Khalwale.

Jubilee on the other hand nominated two women MPs; (Naomi Shaban) and (Beatrice Elachi). 

Wangari and Gwendo said women as well need to be on the decision making table in the making of a new IEBC Commission, and demanded that both Coalitions reconsider their nominations.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s