Ababu, Otuoma, Waluke yet to present resignation letters, ODM says

The Central Committee of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) held its meeting on Tuesday 12, July 2016 under the chairmanship of Party leader Raila Odinga, at Orange House, in Lavington, Nairobi.

Party members did not discuss about resignation of three key Western Kenya MPs, who resigned from their ODM party positions citing frustrations.

ODM director of communications Philip Etale said the party has not received resignation letters from the three members and so the matter was differed until they hand in the letters.

Secretary General Ababu Namwamba, Deputy Party Chairman Paul Otwoma and Bungoma County Chairman John Waluke announced their resignations, citing frustrations.

The meeting discussed the formation of the new board following the disbandment of the National Elections Board by the National Executive Council (NEC) in April 2016, during a meeting in Maanzoni Lodge, Machakos County.

The party proposed five names to be presented to NEC on July 14, 2016 for approval.

The Central Committee also deliberated on the planned tour of Rift Valley and Western Kenya by the Party leader which begins this weekend.

“It is worth noting that the visit is not in anyway in reaction to the current political happenings in the region. It was planned two months ago,” said Etale, in a communication.

The tour begins from Narok County on Saturday 16, July 2016; A public rally in Ugunja constituency in Siaya County on Sunday 17, July; followed by Vihiga County on Monday 18 July and Tuesday 19 July; Busia County on Wednesday and Thursday 20 and 21 respectively, and later Raila will tour Kakamega County on Friday 22, July 2016.

“The Committee also proposed the creation of Women Candidates Co-ordination office to enhance the participation of women in elective politics.”

The meeting was attended by Deputy Party Leaders Hassan Ali Joho and Mr Wycliffe Oparanya.

Other members who attended include Chairman John Mbadi, Organising Secretary Abdikadir Aden, National Treasurer Timothy Bosire, Minority Whip in the National Assembly Thomas Mwadeghu, Deputy Minority Leader in the National Assembly Jakoyo Midiwo, Deputy Minority Whip in the Senate Ms Janet Ong’era, Director of Elections Junet Mohammed, Women Leader Ms Beth Syengo and Youth Leader John Ketora.

Those Absent were Secretary General Ababu Namwamba and Deputy Minority Leader in the Senate Mr Abdirahman Ali Hassan.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s